Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Shades of Gray (Paperback)

This is one of those books that starts off with a bang and keeps going. I couldn’t think of one dull moment. Even parts that could have dragged on kept my interest because they advanced the romantic sub-plot between Katelina and Jorick, which led to the question, “How far will someone go to protect someone they love?”

The book starts when Katelina recalls finding Patrick (who is sort of a boyfriend but not really) dead in his apartment. Then she gets a phone call from someone telling her that he knows who killed Patrick. She debates on whether or not to go to an isolated spot to find out–and she finally decides to go. From there, her life drastically changes because all of the sudden she’s thrown into a world filled with good and evil vampires, and some want to see her dead.

I really enjoyed this book. I found the author’s sense of humor wonderful, but even with humor, there are some serious moments. The key is to blend the two, and I thought the author succeeded very well with that. I would recommend this for readers who prefer more mature themes. For me, this was a definite plus. Sometimes I get bored of light reads and need something with more substance. It tackled just how evil some vampires could get, and that made me appreciate Jorick even more. Parts of it were spooky, like the house Jorick took Katelina to that had very odd people in it. That was my favorite part, especially when he warned her not to leave her bedroom until he came for her. Of course, I wanted to know why, and the author didn’t disappoint me.

The story did end with me wanting to read more, so I look forward to reading the next one in the series.

$.99 on Amazon Kindle

